04
Jan
09

No time like the present…

Well, well, well.  I guess I have finally decided (after much internal debate) to take a more personal step into (onto?) the intertubes that have served me well since the the time when just having an email addy was the shit. It’s exciting, fun, a little scary, and, I hope, a good idea.

That said, this step is not – ahem – as personal as it could be. Given the nature of this blog (genetics, computers, molecular biology, whatever I want), my potty-mouth, and my current and future position(s) in academia, I have chosen to write using a pseudonym.

Of course, pseudonymity does not ensure that the writing will be interesting or good. However, in a backwards way, it does ensure that I can write openly about what I perceive to be the truth – while avoiding repercussions. Recently, The Boss and I were discussing the utility of blogging and writing under a pseudonym just the other day. Our consensus was largely that:

  • blogging is an outlet that can help us (generally) perform better at other, similar tasks (journals, lab notebooks, etc)
  • blogging/writing are fundamentally different from writing research manuscripts, therefore they are “good” or at least “fun”
  • pseudonymity is probably best, particularly for those at the early career stages

Of course, good things can be used for evil, and writing under a pseudonym is certainly no different. But, don’t come here for unsupported tirades, slander, etc. That’s not how I roll.

So, you may be wondering how I do, in fact, roll. Well, since this is a new thing for me, I can’t say that I’m exactly sure. I am likely (and, hopefully, consistently) to write about some of the subjects with which I work, the environment in which I work, and my interests. These include, but aren’t limited to: genetics, behavior, molecular biology, organismal biology, bioinformatics, life in academia, music, mountain-biking, cooking, reading, etc.

If you like these things, then you’re in luck. If not, tough shit.

0 Responses to “No time like the present…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

